Project music streamer

userHead Badeendje 2024-06-21 17:50:09 461 Views6 Replies

Hi all! Welcome to the buildlog of my project; a cd-ripper and music server/streamer!

My Background
Was always big into thinkering ever since I was young and I have a strong sense of how things work. Now I'm a full fledged Civil Engineer with great experience in autocad (2D), some Inventor (3D) and also system engineering. However I never stopped thinkering especially building my own pc's. Furthermore in a previous job I did some maintenance to electrical schematics in autocad (DXF exports) so I do have some basic knowledge which made me believe I could take on this project I'm about to show you.

How the project came to be

For like the past 20 years I've had a HTPC; low power totally passive (Love it!) which was way better than any settopbox my provider could offer. It does live TV, DVD/Blu-ray playback and any video I throw at it. But music it doesn't do that well. Also for the most part it's made with off the shelf items and the challange was mainly with selecting the components. For a long time I wanted a music streamer and a fewyears ago I started looking into it. But; I wanted it to look like any high quality audio equipment in a sleek tv cabinet. There is the first challenge; space constraints. The second; I could buy some streamer and while they're out there and really expensive it justdoesn't give the satisfaction of something you made yourself. I know lot of people can relate to this. It's also about learning stuff along the way.

First sketches and ideas

Once I figured out what I wanted I started collecting parts and made a first impression for a DIY forum elsewhere;